On Sunday, quarterbacks from all over the Florida area plus Georgia, North Carolina, and Ohio will be participating in the 2017 DeBartolo Sports Quarterback Challenge in Jacksonville. The challenge will be held at Mandarin Athletic Association (11808 Fayal Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32258) on Sunday, Feb. 26.

I’ll be there covering the event from start to finish.

Past winners
2013: Chris Oladokun (Class of 2016, Sickles HS)
2014: Zach Johnson (Class of 2018, Safety Harbor MS)
2015: Garrison Bryant (Class of 2016, Clearwater HS)
2016: Cade Weldon (Class of 2017, Jefferson HS)


The event run by DeBartolo Sports quarterback coach Ryan Walker highlights quarterbacks from across the state of Florida and various states. It will showcase quarterback skills in standardized challenges that objectively evaluate and score each athlete.

The top two scoring quarterbacks from each grade will advance to an Elite Passer competition. The top performer from this final round will be awarded a trophy and the official title of “Top Passer”.

Quarterbacks in grades 8-11th (Class of 2021-2018) will take part in the event. The cost is $85 per quarterback. Participants receive apparel by Under Armour and video of themselves from the challenge drills.  Prizes will be awarded to the top two performers from each class.

Space is limited and pre-registration is required.  No walk-ups will be accepted.

All cancellations and refund requests must be received 7 days prior to the event. NO EXCEPTIONS. No refunds will be issued after this deadline.  Please notify DeBartolo Sports and Events by way of email or phone call.

For inquiries, please email contact@debartolosports.com or call 657.200.1378.



10:00am-10:30am: Check-in (Height & Weight)

10:30am-11:00am: Introductions, Recruiting Talk, Keynote Speaker

11:00am-12:00pm: Warm-up and QB Instruction Drills

12:00pm-2:00pm: Preliminary Challenge Drills

Quarterbacks: Long Ball, Accuracy Throws, Throw on the Run, Fade Throws

2:00pm:  Announcement of the 8 Elite QB Finalists (top 2 from each graduating class)

2:30pm:  Top Quarterback Competition

3:30pm: Trophy Presentation, Interview, and Closing


Confirmed quarterbacks


Alec Altman (Mandarin)
Timothy Dallaire (Anclote)
Jaxsen Anagnostis (Boone)
Garrett Blanchett (Middleburg)
Josiah Johnson (Bolles)
Kyle Minckler (Spruce Creek)
Nolan Gomes (Dutchtown, Ga.)
Mackie Bell (Fletcher)
Matthew Armstrong (Oak Hall)
Carter Bradley (Providence)
Caleb Johnson (Cornerstone)
Colt Smith (St. Cloud)
Caleb Lynum (First Academy)
Gavin Denboer (Gaither)
Will Stephens (Irwin, Ga.)
Salem Farmand (Bishop Kenny)
Ryan Kasper (Sunlake)
Noah Tuten (Lanier County)


Austin Gipe (Shorecrest Prep)
Luke Matthews (Gainesville)
Harry Bowker (Bartram Trail)
Tyler Thomas (Park Vista)
Zane Cylar (Warren G. Harding, Ohio)
Cohen Begue (Riverside Christian)
Darius Abrams (Bishop Snyder)
Shaye Scott (Gaither)
Jack Murrah (Ponte Vedra)
Noah Carter (Baker County)
Payton Brown (Sebastian River)
Camden Orth (Buchholz)
Carter Kutchko (Interlachen)
Jeffery “JT Elliott (Glynn, Ga.)
Darrell Thomas (Flagler Palm Coast)
Corey Wilsher (Belleview)
Bryson Lucero (IMG)
Gavin Screws (Baldwin)
Gino English (Winter Park)
Adam Tedder (Lowndes, Ga.)


Michael Moss II (Merritt Island)
Chaz Hirschman (Trinity Christian)
Ben Netting (Mandarin)
Hunter Jennings (Paulding County, Ga.)
Devon Lingle (Ponte Vedra)
Jeremiah Johnson (Bolles)
Nick Thomas (Bartram Trail)
Michael King (Pedro Menendez)
Connor Quinney (Pedro Menendez)
Bryson Hill (Florida State University School)
Fred Davis (Trinity Christian)


Max Cleland (Christ’s Church)
Aaron Parsons (Lincoln Marti)
Will Carn (Landrum Middle)
Landin Sledge (Southeast Raleigh, NC)
Trevahn Lawrence (Landmark Middle)
Kyle Lee (Fernandina Beach)
Layton Perry (Episcopal)
Austin Walker (Providence)
Justin Hayes (Westminster Christian)
Santino Marucci (Jupiter)
Max Monroe (St. John’s Country Day)


Notable alumni

Bruce Judson (Oregon commit)
Rex Culpepper (Syracuse)
Blake Dever (Savannah State)
Trent Wessel (FAU)
Will Ayers (Southeastern)
Malik Tyson (FIU)
Jack Adams (TCU)
Jakob Parks (South Dakota commit)
Austin Sessums (Texas Southern commit)
Kyle Trina (USF commit)
Alec Cromie (Tusculum College commit)
Jacob Thomas (Mars Hill commit)
Larry Della Betta (UWF commit)

If you have any other inquiries about the event feel free to contact me via email at jake.perper@hotmail.com

Jake Perper is the founder of Prep Sports Scouting. Make sure to follow along for all the updates on Twitter: @JakePerper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *