On Sunday, Feb. 25th, quarterbacks from all over the Florida area plus Georgia, North Carolina, and Ohio will be participating in the 2018 DeBartolo Sports Quarterback Challenge in Jacksonville. The challenge will be held at Mandarin Athletic Association (11808 Fayal Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32258) and is run by quarterback coach Ryan Walker.

I’ll be there covering the event from start to finish providing live tweets and updates on all social media platforms.

Past winners
2013: Chris Oladokun (Class of 2016, Sickles HS)
2014: Zach Johnson (Class of 2018, Safety Harbor MS)
2015: Garrison Bryant (Class of 2016, Clearwater HS)
2016: Cade Weldon (Class of 2017, Jefferson HS)
2017: Kyle Lee (Class of 2021, Fernandina Beach HS)


The event is run by DeBartolo Sports quarterback coach Ryan Walker who goes through on-field training and film study on the day. It highlights quarterbacks from across the state of Florida and various states. It will showcase quarterback skills in standardized challenges that objectively evaluate and score each athlete.

The top two scoring quarterbacks from each grade will advance to an Elite Passer competition. The top performer from this final round will be awarded a trophy and the official title of “Top Passer”.

Quarterbacks in grades 8-11th (Class of 2022-2019) will take part in the event. The cost is $90 per quarterback. Participants receive apparel by Under Armour and video of themselves from the challenge drills.  Prizes will be awarded to the top two performers from each class.

Space is limited and preregistration is required.  No walk-ups will be accepted.

All cancellations and refund requests must be received 7 days prior to the event. NO EXCEPTIONS. No refunds will be issued after this deadline.  Please notify DeBartolo Sports and Events by way of email or phone call.

For inquiries, please email contact@debartolosports.com or call 657.200.1378.



10:00am-10:30 AM: Check-in (Height & Weight)

10:30am-11:00 AM: Introductions, Recruiting Talk, Keynote Speaker (Former Jaguars running back and Michigan star Denard Robinson)

11:00am-12:00 PM: Warm-up and QB Instruction Drills

12:00pm-2:00 PM: Preliminary Challenge Drills

Quarterbacks:  Long Ball, Accuracy Throws, Throw on the Run, Fade Throws

2:00 PM:  Announcement of the 8 Elite QB Finalists (top 2 from each graduating class)

2:30 PM:  Top Quarterback Competition

3:30 PM: Trophy Presentation, Interview, and Closing


Confirmed quarterbacks so far


Carter Kutchko (Interlachen)
Austin Gipe (St. Pete Catholic)
Jackson McDonald (Marathon)
Jack Murrah (Ponte Vedra)
Connor Edel (Orlando Christian Prep)
Dylan Thibault (St. Joseph)
Logan Pearlman (Evangelical Christian)
Chase Pennington (Georgia Harlem)
Luke Matthews (Gainesville)
Trevor Hedges (Venice)
Gavin Screws (Baldwin)
Cohen Begue (Riverside Christian)
Tyler Huff (Ridgeview)


Devon Lingle (Ponte Vedra)
Jeremiah Johnson (Bolles)
Quaid Gardner (Palm Harbor)
Francis Coronado (LaSalle)
Ben Anderson (Christ’s Church)
Jordan Schell (Riverview)


Will Carn (St. Joseph)
Max Monroe (St. John’s Country Day)
Landin Sledge (Southeast Raleigh, Nc.)
Glen Willard (St. Augustine)
Morris James (Clewiston)
Kyle Lee (Fernandina Beach)
Layton Perry (Episcopal)
Austin Walker (Providence)
Jackson Mock (Fernandina Beach)
Max Cleland (Christ’s Church)
TK Kocak (Clay)
Ezra McKenna (Navarre)
Kyle Muffoletto (Newsome)
Will Carn (St. Joseph)
Morris James (Clewiston)


Noah Ray (Baker County)
Zack Drawdy (Yulee)
Sam Steingold (Calvary Christian)
Harrison Moritz (Fruit Cove Middle)
CJ Simms (Jefferson Middle)
Sean Anderson (Edgewood)
Antwuan Washington (Mayport Middle)
Jesse Winslette (Meigs Middle)
Chase Conley (Landrum)
Jalen Sonnier (Westview)
Paulus Zittrauer (Savannah Christian Middle, Ga.)
Jacob Dennie (Florida Virtual)
Alex Aguilar (University Christian)
Ty’Won Walker (Ware County, Ga.)

Featured quarterbacks: Gavin Screws, Devon Lingles, Tyler Huff and Jack Murrah


Notable alumni

Bruce Judson (Oregon)
Rex Culpepper (Syracuse)
Chris Oladokun (USF)
Cade Weldon (Miami)
Blake Dever (Savannah State)
Trent Wessel (FAU)
Will Ayers (Southeastern)
Mac Jones (Alabama)
Matthew Considine (Wake Forest)
Malik Tyson (FIU)
Zach Baldwin (Gustavus Adolphus College)
River Walker (Delaware State)
Jack Adams (TCU)
Jakob Parks (South Dakota)
Austin Sessums (Texas Southern)
Kyle Trina (USF)
Alec Cromie (Tusculum College)
Jacob Thomas (Mars Hill)
Larry Della Betta (UWF)
Josiah Johnson (UMass commit)
Carter Bradley (Toledo commit)

Quote from Ryan Walker:

“Effective QBs need to be accurate and on time. The challenge is a fun event but that’s an aspect I love about it. It makes you focus on those two things.”

Jake Perper is the founder of Prep Sports Scouting. Make sure to follow along for all the updates on Twitter: @JakePerper.

If you have any questions or comments feel free to write below or email Jake at jake.perper@hotmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *